The Geological Society of Washington founded 1893

DRAFT MINUTES
ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY
DECEMBER 4, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 9:04 P.M. by President Mike Purucker following his presidential address, *Geology of the Earth, Moon, Mars, and Mercury as revealed by the magnetic fields in their crusts*, and a brief recess. The minutes of the 2018 meeting were read and approved.

REPORTS

Meeting Secretary

Megan Holycross reported the following statistics of the eleven meetings of the Society in 2019:

	min.	mean	max.
attendees	48	65	84
guests	9	16	26
announcements	1	4	7
informal comm.	0	1	4
questions	4	15	22
length (min.)	95	109	121

Tied for most questions asked with twenty were Bill Burton and Carl-Henry Geschwind.

Council Secretary

Patrick Carr reported that the Council held meetings on April 3rd and October 23rd. At the spring meeting, the president was authorized to plan for twelve meetings for 2020; at the fall meeting dues were kept steady for 2020 and minor changes were made to the Investment Policy. Meeting venue is an ongoing discussion.

Treasurer

Carl-Henry Geschwind reported the finances of the Society for the fiscal year ending June 30th, 2019, as follows:

receipts	
dues	\$8,400
contributions	5,358
royalties	150
disbursement from Funds	3,261
	\$19,508
disbursements	
hall rental	\$7,680
drinks	5,723
speakers	2,339
miscellaneous	3,766
	\$19,508

Audit Committee

Mark Fuhrmann reported that the treasurer's report was audited and, once a discrepancy of 53¢ was corrected, was found to be correct. George Helz moved that the auditor's report be adopted; this passed without objection.

Membership Committee

Erik Hankin reported that there are 271 paid members for 2019 as of October 15th. The renewal rate for this year was 85 percent, down 5 percent from 2018 and down 9 percent from 2015. As of December 3rd, 31 new members were accepted and 24 of those have paid membership dues. The Council is investigating changing the new member process to avoid this, as well as making renewal easier. The Council is also developing a code of ethics for members similar to those of AGU, GSA, and the like.

Public Service Committee

Kori Newman reported that Society members visited seven regional science fairs and awarded 33 ribbons and 39 certificates to 32 deserving earth science-oriented projects. Six posters were presented at the April 18th meeting. Thanks go to members who judged and organizations that donated tchotchkes for gift bags. The full list of winners and judges was received and placed on file.

Awards Committee

Laura Helmuth reported the following awards:

The Bradley Prize for the best formal scientific talk was to Deborah Green, the 2018– 19 GSA-AEG Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer in Applied Geology, for her talk

3

of September 11th, You don't look like a geologist—Why are the geosciences the least diverse of the STEM fields?

The prize for second-best formal talk was to Larry C. Peterson of the University of Miami for his talk of April 24th, *Ice cores and ocean mud: Records of abrupt climate change and implications for tropical hydrology.*

The Great Dane Award for the best informal communication to the Society of timely or newsworthy events was to Jim Head of Brown University for his talk of January 9th, Chang'E-4 mission to the lunar farside and the Chinese Lunar Exploration Program (CLEP).

Yasmina Martos presented the Sleeping Bear award for genuine good humor at meetings to Bill Burton of the U.S. Geological Survey.

BUSINESS OF THE DAY

Callan Bentley as chair of the Nominations Committee presented the following slate of officers as approved by the Council on October 23rd:

First Vice-President: Liz Cottrell (Smithsonian) Second Vice-President: Larry Meinert (independent)

Meeting Secretary: Beth Doyle (Northern Virginia Community College)

Council Secretary: Patrick Carr (Department of Defense)

Treasurer: Carl-Henry Geschwind (independent)

Councillor: Pranoti Asher (American Geophysical Union) Councillor: Bill Craddock (U.S. Geological Survey) Councillor: Julia Nord (George Mason University).

There were no nominations from the floor, and the slate was elected by acclamation. The President for 2020 will be Esther Sztein (National Academies), elected last year as the first vice-president. Mike Purucker (NASA Goddard) is on the Council as the past president, and continuing councillors are Graham Lederer (U.S. Geological Survey), Bev Walker (National Science Foundation), and Nick Pyenson (Smithsonian).

The gavel was passed to President Sztein, who closed the meeting at 9:38 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick M. Carr, Council Secretary